All District D1-8 Football Team Announced

Seven members of the Elgin Wolfpack football team earned recognition by being chosen to the first team 2010 D1-8 All-District squad.

Senior Corey Schindler, junior Nash Schindler and sophomore Andrew Heithoff were named to the first team offense.

Schindler and Heithoff led selections to the offensive line. Their blocking helped the Wolfpack average nearly 300 yards total offense per game.

Other offensive linemen named to the first team were senior Grant Hitchcock of Burwell and senior Aaron Hemenway of Clearwater-Orchard.

Nash Schindler, a junior, led selections to the first team backfield. Schindler gained 844 yards rushing and scored 11 touchdowns. Joining him in the backfield is sophomore Alec Galvan of Burwell. Named as first team quarterback was senior Calvin Willats of Clearwater-Orchard.

Other first-team offense selections were: Ends — junior Jacob Birch of Burwell and Garrett Shepperd of North Central; athlete — senior Kendell McCarthy of West Boyd; kicker — Austin Svoboda of Burwell; and punter —Jeff Knox of North Central.

Four members of the Wolfpack were named to the first-team defense. Junior Caleb Pelster was selected for the defensive line. Pelster had five quarterback sacks during the season. He was joined in the line by senior Curtis Dather of Niobrara/Verdigre, junior Colby Wurst of Burwell and junior Caleb Kackaff of North Central.

Wolfpack linebackers’ Grant Beckman and Blake Anderson earned first team recognition.

Beckman, a junior, had 28 unassisted tackles for the Wolfpack (tied for the team-high).

Anderson, a sophomore, had 63 tackles during the season including two behind the line of scrimmage and one quarterback sack. Also named as first team linebackers were senior Aaron Schleusener of Clearwater-Orchard and junior Guhner Kepler of North Central.

Wolfpack Evan Parks was one of two defensive backs named to the first team. A junior, Parks had 28 unassisted tackles during the season. The other defensive back chosen was Grant Jeffrres, a senior from Burwell. Named as the first team kick returner was Adam Bretschneider, a senior from North Central.

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.