Awards Handed Out at Wolfpack Fall Banquet

The Elgin Public-Pope John Wolfpack Fall Sports Banquet was held earlier this month.

Coaches, athletes, parents and fans gathered at the Knights of Columbus Hall to celebrate the achievements of football and volleyball players.

Football Coach Carlie Wells said few probably thought at the start of the season the team would have the success it did by winning the Class D-1 state title. “Except for maybe the kids on our team. We knew we had a lot of players coming back and we worked extremely hard during the summer months. After watching how much time and effort they put into the off season, I knew that we had a chance to be a very good team … In the end they proved to be the BEST.”

Earning letters or participation certificates were (L-Letter, P-Participation)


Kyle Heithoff (L), Jace Lammers (P)

Truman Copeland (P), Chris Bush (L) 1st, Tyler Smith (P), Trent Bauer (L) 1st and Ethan Fischer (P)


Peter Starman (L) 1st, Blake Schrage (L) 1st, Alex Pelster (L) 1st, Brett Kinney (L) 1st and Jordon Dietz (L) 1st


Shane Beckman (L) 1st, Michael Braband (L) 1st, Alex Grosserode (L) 1st, Beau Heithoff (L) 1st, Austin Heying (L) 1st, Trent Hoefer (L) 1st

Levi Kerkman (L) 1st, Ross Schindler (L) 2nd, Nick Heithoff (L) 3rd, Andrew Heithoff (L) 3rd, Lee Bartak (L) 2nd, Blake Anderson (L) 3rd and Mykil Copeland (P)


Grant Beckman (L) 3rd, Jared Seier (L) 4th, Nash Schindler (L) 4th, Drew Schindler (L) 3rd, Caleb Pelster (L) 3rd, Evan Parks (L) 3rd, Ryan Meis (P) and Tre Henkenius (L) 3rd

Receiving manager ‘letters’ were:

Tanner Dozler, Kenny Bush, Evan Schindler, AJ Getzfred and Christian Lungren.

Team Awards

Defensive MVP — Andrew Heitoff

Offensive MVP — Nash Schindler

District Awards

Honorable Mention — Tre Henkenius

Second Team Offense

Ross Schindler — QB

Drew Schindler — O-Line

Jared Seier — Kicker

Second Team Defense

Drew Schindler — D-Line

Ryan Meis — LB

Andrew Heithoff — LB

Nash Schindler — LB

First Team Offense

Nash Schinder — RB

Blake Anderson — RB

Jared Seier — O-line

Andrew Heithoff — End

Nick Heithofff — Punter

First Team Defense

Caleb Pelster — D-Line

Grant Beckman — LB

Evan Parks — DB

Lincoln Journal Star


Nash Schindler — RB and Honorary Captain

Drew Schindler — OL

Jared Seier — DL

Grant Beckman — LB

Honorable Mention

Ross Schindler, Andrew Heithoff and Evan Parks

Omaha World Herald


Jared Seier — DL Honorary captain

Nash Schindler — RB

Andrew Heithoff — LB

Honorable Mention — Caleb Pelster and Blake Anderson

Norfolk Daily News

Nash Schindler — RB and Captain of the Elite eight

Ross Schindler — QB second team

Caleb Pelster — DL Honorable Mention

Huskerland Prep Report

Nash Schindler — First Team and Honorary Captain

Jared Seier — First Team D-Line

Honorable Mention — Andrew Heithoff, Caleb Pelster, Blake Anderson

Special Team Awards

(Kids that lift 40 days) Chris Bush, Tyler Smith, Kyle Heithoff, Alex Pelster, Blake Schrage, Brett Kinney, Levi Kerkman, Nick Heithoff, Shane Beckman, Andrew Heithoff, Blake Anderson, Ross Schindler, Lee Bartak, Trent Hoefer, Caleb Pelster, Jared Seier, Evan Parks, Grant Beckman, Nash Schindler and Drew Schindler

Wolfpack Lifter of the Year — Drew Schindler


The Wolfpack Volleyball team ended their season with an 11 – 17 record this year. Coach Tina Thiele-Blecher said it was a fun season with 33 girls that put in a lot of work and dedication to the program.

Awards and honors for volleyball players were:

Niobrara Valley Conference

First Team — Carey Eischeid

Second Team — Lauren Selting

Honorable Mention — Chelsi Mescher

Norfolk Daily News

Third Team — Carey Eischeid

Lincoln Journal Star

Honorable Mention — Chelsi Mescher and Carey Eischeid

Omaha World Herald

Honorable Mention — Chelsi Mescher, Carey Eischeid and Lauren Selting

Team Awards

Wolfpack Award

Varsity — Lauren Selting

JV — Ivy Prater

C Team — Brandi Baker

Most Valuable Player

Varsity — Chelsi Mescher

JV — Courtney Schumacher

C Team — Hayley Stamp

Hustle Award

Varsity — Carey Eischeid

JV — Sydney Schumacher

C Team — Taylor Schumacher

Best Defense Award

Varsity — Carey Eischeid

JV — Courtney Schumacher

C Team — Morgan Childers and Taylor Schumacher

Best Offense Award

Varsity — Chelsi Mescher

JV — Casey Pelster and Corin Pelster

C Team — Baylie Schiltmeyer

Most Improved Award

Varsity — Courtney Schumacher

JV — Madi Voborny

C Team — Hayley Stamp

Earning letters or participation certificates were:


Ashley Bode, Stephanie Bode, Marin Heithoff, Chelsi Mescher, Carey Eischeid, Lauren Selting, Brea Schrage, Connor Kinney, Olivia Borer, Justine Meis and Courtney Schumacher


Justine Heithoff, Casey Pelster, Corin Pelster, Madi Voborny, Jennifer Tharnish, Maddie Schiltmeyer, Ashlyn DeWald, Jenny Beckman, Natalie Beckman, Jill Moser, Ivy Prater, Sydney Schumacher, Mallory Fangman, Brandi Baker, Tera Henkenius, Sharla Schindler, Hayley Stamp, Baylie Schiltmeyer, Taylor Schumacher, Kayla Nelsen, Lisa Dohmen and Morgan Childers


Taya Voborny, Jenna Parks, Jordan Mescher and Liz Selting